My filmi fotos of India. Part I.


I’m still working on uploading my photos from my recent trip to Mother India and I’ll post a link to them soon. In the meantime I’d like to share the filmi related photos from the trip. This first photo I’ve included here may not appear too filmi, yet it is and I’ll tell you why. Have you seen the classic film Deewaar? If so, wouldn’t you think of the wild factory fight scene from the film if you found yourself in any type of factory or warehouse in India? I know I did! In case you need to be reminded, here’s that scene:

india0809-3412 Here I am touring Noni’s factory in Ludhiana. His favorite actor is Sunny Deol. Noni spoke of high thinking and simple living and did not attempt to fight me in the factory, which is always a possibility for any fan of Sunny Deol, who is really a fighter on screen. Instead of fighting, he was a very gracious host, yet after seeing so many fight scenes in factories in Bollywood films, I had to be prepared. I look all peaceful here, but if need be, I would have taken him down along with all the workers! Believe that! O.K, not really.

The Bollywood star who I saw the most on billboards during my trip was Abhishek Bachchan. He was advertising a cell phone company and these billboards were everywhere:

india0809-3592

india0809-7152

india0809-4144

 Sometimes there were just billboards of Abi scowling, like this one. Grrrrrrrr:

india0809-5621

Karisma (look hard and you can see her in the top left of the photo) and Kareena, were also being used to endorse beauty salons and crackers, as in the small explosive devices. Somehow I don’t think the Kapoor sisters were aware of their images being used here.

india0809-4303  india0809-1994

 

Finally, I found Shilpa Shetty selling Vodka. Isn’t that rather racy for India? From afar I thought it was an ad for perfume, or maybe some kind of energy drink, but closer inspection revealed it was for vodka! Can a nice Indian girl endorse liquor?

india0809-6812

12 thoughts on “My filmi fotos of India. Part I.

  1. Ohhh- u give me a hankering to go back! :D Movie stars have long advertised alcohol in India, those this is the 1st time I have seen a female actor do so- now I wanna be in delhi and kick back w/ some of that vodka- ahh.

  2. Ooooh, keep loading ‘em up! I want to see all your photos. I’d be excited to see all those billboards too. Would probably end up talking to them, like Om in the film!

  3. Good stuff, thanks for sharing, Sita-ji! I was looking for Sonu on the Shahi Kabab (I’m hungry) billboard, LOL! And maybe Abhishek has a career in politics — ‘for the people, by the people’, and ‘YES’ (without the ‘We Can’ for now)? :)

  4. shweta-ji,
    I was a bit surprised to see a lady endorsing the sharab, seems tabu. I will meet you in Delhi, you can sip on the Red vodka, while I’ll sneak a shot of Johnnie Walker Red, as to not rock the Hindustani boat by being lady drinking. ;)

    Joss-ji,
    Thanks for the visit. I’d see these billboards and really only get in the shot when it was almost too late. I really wanted a shot of a great sign that showed SRK and below his photo it read “Welcome NRIs,” but I missed it!

    theBollywoodFan-ji,
    Yes that Sonu Shahi Kabab is a “government approved” drinking palace, according to the sign. Yes, I wouldn’t be surprised if Abhishek wound up in politics, that scowling pix makes him look political-ish. :)

  5. Hey,
    For how many days did you go and whereabouts?
    BTW…. I think its Kareena in the top left corner and the bigger picture is of Karisma.

  6. Kailash-ji,
    Thanks for the visit. I was there for 2 weeks and visited Delhi, Ludhiana, Mohali, Amritsar and Agra. I’d love to go back again.

    Maybe you’re correct, but I don’t know who the big face in the photo in question is, I just thought the small on in the corner looked like Karisma.
    :)

  7. Fun! I loved all the “pirated” images on billboards – Amitabh advertising a tailor in Ahmedabad, Aishwaraya promoting a jewelry shop in Varanasi, Rani for saris in Kolkata….

    I want one of those Abhisheks in brainy specs!

  8. Beth-ji!
    Yes, I did enjoy those fake endorsements more than the legitamate ones. Brainy speced Abhishek was everywhere, so much so that I almost forgot to get the picture thinking, “I’ll get that next time.” Aishwaraya also promoted jewelery in Ludhiana. ;)

    sparkle-ji,
    Glad you liked that Deewar video. You can understand how I’d be a bit aprehansive in factory/warehouse settings.
    Thanks for the visit. :)

  9. bawa-ji!
    How fun to know that I was in your very own hometown. I was treated with great hospitality in Ludhiana. I was there to attend a wedding of a friend of a friend of a friend. I’ll email you their name later to see if you know them. It’s a small world after all. I give you a hint, their last name is Singh. :)

Leave a Reply

