“I love white plumpness,” A Struggle on the Nile (1959)


I was at my local library the other day when this DVD cover’s image mesmerized me: the art, the font used in the English version of the title, the Arabic font, the entire package, VAY!  Of course I had to check out  A Struggle on the Nile (1959) and watch the movie after the cover image enticed me oh so much. I can’t seem to get enough of this spectacular poster, so here’s yet another great version of the movie poster I found at Movie Poster Collecting: Omar Sharif’s Egyptian Films:

The movie is in Arabic, so it’s not technically not Bollywood, but it has the familiar love triangle theme of many Indian film industry movies.  The love triangle involves characters played by Omar Sharif, Hind Rostom, Roshidi Abaza.

Now HERE is why I was compelled to do a post on this film, because of this scene where Omar Sharif‘s  Muhasab character is frolicking in the Nile with Hind Rostom‘s character, Nargis, while Roshidi Abaza‘s Mujahed and other boat workers look on in lust and envy…

And here is what they say:

And once more en Francais, because it’s such a great subtitle:

I felt so proud of my own personal white plumpness after reading these subtitles, I wanted to eat some cake! As it turns out, I am not the only Bollywood fan who enjoyed Hind Rostom, because when I was looking around the internet for more information on the movie, I found that fellow blogger Richard from Dances on the Footpath wrote a post on Rostom which you can enjoy HERE.

16 thoughts on ““I love white plumpness,” A Struggle on the Nile (1959)

  1. Sita-ji, thank you for yet another nice reference!

    It was a very worthwhile movie too. And while the music and dancing in this one were kept to a relative minimum, some of those old Egyptian belly dance films really were like song-and-dance-filled Bollywood films. (I also took some others out of the New York Public Library a while back, and there were many scenes to be found on YouTube when last I looked.)

    Funny thing is, I don’t remember your favorite line, above. :) Maybe it’s just because it didn’t seem so strange to me. Just kidding. :)

    But objectification aside… I guess it makes sense that in this cultural context, the guys at least didn’t mind a little plumpness. I have noticed that most Egyptian belly dancers, unlike so many western dancers, actually do have bellies. (Though they’re never quite as heavy as Pashtun mujra dancers, from what I’ve seen..)

    • Richard-ji,
      Trouble bhaisahib, I went back into my library data base and found 138 Arabic language films, so another mountain of entertainment and culture to climb now for me. I have now requested Hind Rustum in Cairo Station (1958), have you seen it? Maybe you didn’t notice the subtitle because it is of course not at all strange, you probably sat there and thought, “Yep!” ;) What’s even funnier is she’s not necessarily plump-plump, more healthy and curvaceous in my opinion. She has a fantastic figure, but even more outstanding than that figure were her acting skills, which you talked of in your post. OK Richard, we can now only wait to see who else I will become captivated by and post on, since we seem to have the same entertainment tastes. :)

      • Sita-ji, I don’t recall if I got to see any more Hind Rostom movies. The next Egyptian dancer-actress whom I got to watch was Samia Gamal… First her famous genie movie, and then a dance compilation that I saw on the shelves in a couple of libraries – highly recommended…

    • Samir-ji!
      My high doses of movie watching can only help me become more plump like Hind, and now in addition to cake, I will add baklava, how on earth could I forget baklava! I’ll add some jalebi for good measure and maybe a little of gulab jamun and ladoos! Thanks for your commentji.

  2. Hooray for White Plumpness! LOL I can’t even look at another language film I am so far behind On my Bolly-Tolly Kolly and haven’t started my Molly-wood. If only I didn’t have to go to work.

    • Jill-ji,
      Thanks for stopping by to comment. It’s an endless supply of entertainment indeed! Where to start is the problem, and even worse is when you enjoy all types of foreign films like we both do. I feel like I’m betraying the Indian film industry when I look at other genres. ;)

  3. Well I’ve had my laugh for the evening! It’s even more funny by the bad translation. I mean, “plumpness”? That’s the sort of euphemism one uses when trying to be kind regarding someone’s large size, and it’s really such a cute term! I think what they were really going for was “veluptuosness” or something, but then it wouldn’t be nearly as charming! :)

    Though I think the French version made it even more hilarious with the sigh of “ah,” at the beginning. :)

    • MinaiMinai-ji,
      Thanks for commenting. :) It’s hilarious isn’t it, since she’s scarcely what I’d call plump. She’s shapely, curvy, voluptuous, but not quite plump. Maybe I’m seeing her through my ethnocentrically-plump colored American glasses, so she’s not so plump to me? Glad you appreciate the comment en Francais too, c’est vrai, it was even better with that “ah” to start it off. :)

    • SVH/ sparkle-ji,
      It was very fun to watch the very young Omar Sharif in this. His character was innocent to the point of being dense, but he was very likable for the most part.

Leave a Reply

