A tight slap from Charulata (1964)


I’ve had to spend time working and have been neglecting the blog.  Looks like I need a tight slap!

charulata.tightslap

I’ll get back to this more enjoyabe blog work soon dosto. In the mean time I hope you’ve enjoyed this image captured from Satyajit Ray’s Charulata (1964). See, even high brow Bengali cinama mentions the tight slaps of Bollywood!

Instead of working doesn’t this scene look like a nice alternative?

charulata

The tune is “Phule Phule Dhole Dhole”  and the scene stars the lovely Madhabi Mukherjee and Soumitra Chatterjee sing the song by Tagore.

Read more about Charulata (The Lonely Wife) HERE and listen to another tune from the film HERE.

17 thoughts on “A tight slap from Charulata (1964)

  1. I kind of thought the biggest motivator was poverty (and fear that the Unemployment extensions might run out). Otherwise, I think I would love not working, without an
    ounce of guilt!

    Nice clip; I saw it a couple of months ago. I’ve been thinking of putting together a “women on swings” post. They’ve actually put the best dancers on swings – Vyjayanthimala, Padmini, Helen…

    • Richard S-ji,
      Namaste bhai. Yes, I could fully enjoy not working and amusing myself with other things, such as watching Hindi movies and blogging. :D I’d love to see that “women on swings” post. I’ve followed the women on swings much as I’ve tracked the slapping, Johnnie Walker drinking, balloons, and also the farris wheels at festivals in Bollywood films. And, to mix a great dancer and a swing is almost too much! Though known more for her beauty than dancing, you may also want to add this cool woman on swing to your series, Zeenat Aman with the voice of LATA MANGESHKAR – “ROTI KAPADA AUR MAKAN”

    • bollywooddeewana-ji
      I lovingingly give you that tight slap! The image that you speak of is from Izzat (1968) and the song is “jagi badan me” and here’s a clip of the video:

      I think I’ll do a post on it soon, since I took a bunch of screen caps from it. Thanks for your visit. :)

  2. Sita-ji, thanks for informing me about yet another swinging swing scene.

    Ferris wheels…oh, I have definitely noticed the Bollywood obsession with ferris wheels. Recently, I started to watch the 1948 film Mela, starring Nargis, Dilip Kumar, and a ferris wheel. And whenever I think of Raj Kapoor’s Mera Naam Joker, I can’t help thinking about that big ferris wheel that we had to see over and over again…

    Regarding the image header – that’s the former Chief Minister, isn’t it?

    • Richard-ji,
      I have Mere Naam Joker and will watch that and look for the ferris wheel scene. The scene I’ve seen over and over from that movie is this one, but have yet to see the entire film.

      So many film with the ferris wheel, most recently Billu Barber. And then there’s also SRK on a swing in that film too as seen in the very end of this video:

      OK, looking forward to the swing post. And now maybe I should do a complementary ferris wheel post, and then there could be an addendum to Shweta’s Bollywood chandelier post: a swinging on chandeliers post. :) :)

    • Pitu-ji,
      Excellent! I’m glad I reminded you of one of your top films. It is great. To be a smart ass I thought of doing a comparative essay on Charulata and Kambakkht Ishq, but figured it may insight the people. I agree that Richard’s swing post will be something to look forward to.

  3. Pingback: Women on Swings « Dances on the Footpath

  4. Hello! I got here through Charulata querying… Well, I’m disappointed, there isn’t much about it after all!
    Why not do that write-up after all? I’d love to read about it!
    cheers
    yves

    • yves-ji,
      Sorry dost. I believe I have nothing to offer on my impressions, except for telling you what a lovely movie this was, which of course you already know. I am always delighted when I see some more pedestrian images of “the tight slap to the face” in the more high brow Bengali cinema. If you haven’t already, you can read a nice write up here:

      http://www.satyajitray.org/films/charu.htm

      I am still enjoying your FANTASTIC blog. (added you to my blogroll some time back) Your write up of the movie was insightful and it’s certainly true that this film could deliver more meaning with repeated viewing.

      http://www.letstalkaboutbollywood.com/article-20966371.html

      The particular scenes that resonate with me still are the swing scene and song, when Charulata has one of her little outbursts and storms back to her room, and most of all when her husband makes the connection about Charulata’s feelings for the cousin and the look on the husband’s face. The sign of an excellent film for me is just that, to have particular pictures in my mind that I can still pull up and that pull at the heart strings. So, it’s simply because I was lazy that I didn’t write about it, but I know a second viewing is in order for me.

      Thanks for commenting. :)

  5. Hi Sitaji,

    Thanks for your kind message! I didn’t mean of course to give you more work! Still, I’m very pleased to exchange with you on Satyajit Ray, and it makes me too want to go and see, enjoy and reflect more about his art.
    Best regards,
    yves

Leave a Reply

