On what Bollywood star would you tie a rakhi?


rakhi.2

rakhiIt’s Raksha Bandham time dosto.  Since I’m a full throttle cultural pirate of all things Indian due to my Bollywood addiction, I thought of this question for us all:  On what Bollywood star would you tie a rakhi?

Raksha Bandhan (the bond of protection in Hindi and Panjabi) is a Hindu festival, which celebrates the relationship between brothers and sisters. It is celebrated on the full moon of the month of Shraavana. The festival is marked by the tying of a rakhi, or holy thread by the sister on the wrist of her brother. The elder brother in return offers a gift to his sister and vows to look after her same while an elder sister returns offers to her younger brother. The brother and sister traditionally feed each other sweets. It is not necessary that the rakhi can be given only to a brother by birth; any male can be “adopted” as a brother by tying a rakhi on the person, that is “blood brothers and sisters”, whether they are cousins or a good friend. Indian history is replete with women asking for protection, through rakhi, from men who were neither their brothers, nor Hindus themselves. (source-ji)

I recall the first time I saw this done in a movie and someone tied a super big fancy one on  Amitabh in some film.  Fancy like this:

tying_the_rakhi_orig

It was Angry young man Amitabh, so perhaps it was in Zanjeer?  I can’t recall.  Tell me if you can.  Anyway, this got me thinking about what star could offer me imaginary brotherly protection.  It was a toss up between Anupam Kher and Amrish Puri, with Paresh Rawal as third runner up for next year.  So this year I have a tie (get it, a tie? ) and tie my imaginary rakhi on Anupam Kher AND Amrish Puri.

anupam amrish

I choose the sacred bond with Anupam for his intelligence and ability to work in a wide range of films. He offers wisdom and humor which are qualities I’d like in a brother, plus I love his bibi, Kirron Kher, so it’s like a 2 for one. Then, I’d tie the other rakhi on Amrish Puri.  I figure since he’s dead that would be some supernatural rakhi power and protection from the other side. Who wouldn’t like Amrish Puri on their good side? Imagine if someone dared to cross you and Amrish stepping on to the scene and starting one of his outrageous villain rants on your behalf. Now that would be the limit! Yeah do you know who my brother is? I’d mention his name, and there would be no trouble.

nanak

Now tell me the Bollywood star on whom you would you tie the sacred knot and why? You can think about your answer while you watch this rakhi scene from  Hum Saath-Saath Hain  (1999) which I haven’t seen but must:

28 thoughts on “On what Bollywood star would you tie a rakhi?

  1. Hmmm this is so difficult there are so many but i gues it might have to be Mala Sinha, she’s so gorgeous even in old age and i feel she never really got her due in a way from the film awards peeps, so my Rakhi would be for a whole lot of love and appreciation for her and her work

    • bollywooddeewana-ji,
      Thanks for your visit bhai. I also like your choice and you remind me to see more of her. Sadly, I think I’ve only seen Mala Sinha in Pyaasa. I’d love to try and tackle watching her entire filmography. I see she worked with Uttam Kumar, who I saw in a couple movies and was totally smitten with immediately. Great star appeal! This is what I like about blogging: finding out about “new” actors and films, so thanks for the input bhai.

      Here you go, some more images of your sister:

  2. Of course, it’s okay that you used the Amrish photo :)

    It’s funny cause I just saw Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi last night and saw Raaki on there too.

    SO to answer your question on which Bollywood star would I want to tie a Raaki for?

    I’m thinking either Dharmendra or Shashi Kapoor :)

    • Nicki-ji,
      While checking for a pic of Amrish I liked I stumbled upon yours, so had to steal it. :) Though I most often link my stolen photos anyway, so not really stealing. ;)

      Yes I remember that scene in RNBDJ at the mall and her talking about her thoughts on Raksha Bandham. I loved that sweet fluffy film! I actually had to get my own copy after seeing it. How did you like it?

      Very good choices there, and i also like the you choose a couple of them, since it’s too hard to choose. I think Dharmendra could really kick some ass on your behalf and that Shashi has so many powerful connections that no one would mess with his behen, Nobody!

  3. Salman Khan. He is fiercely protective of his family, and I’m not in the least attracted to him :-D

    Plus, Helen is his stepmother and that would make me that much closer to being related to her.

    • memsaab-ji,
      I like this choice and your consideration of the sexual attraction factor. Though I think he may be disappointed at you merely looking at him as a brother vs. the chance for something more. I can imagine you and Helen on the roof working on some choreography and Salu spying longingly at his new “sister” and not know what to do to change things. Dhanyavad for the visit.

  4. Well, the ritual is- girl ties Rakhi to boy. So I wud let Gauri Khan do that for me. Once i become ‘Saala’ (brother-in-law) of the King, poora bollywood wil b in my pocket. :-P

  5. Geez. I’m young enough that I could be the behen of pretty much ALL of Bollywood… SO, I have to think carefully. Naturally, one might assume that since Akshay Khanna looks so much like my (very) caucasian brother, I might choose him, but in deepest consideration it’s probably a tie for me too. (haha — have we finished with this pun yet?) It would be Shahrukh because he has so much compassion and grace I know that he would be the constant caregiver – we know he takes very good care of his REAL sister at least. And also, Akshay Kumar – because in every interview I’ve ever read he seems to have the greatest respect and admiration for women. I would only want to be a little sister of someone I can give my respect to.

  6. If you really must know, Sita-ji…I’d ask for raakhis from Helen and Mallika Sherawat. And while at it, I’d also ask for one from Karan Johar :P

    In reality, it would likely be Soha Ali Khan, perhaps because she reminds me of my sister in so many ways. I’ve always wondered how much of it is because they went to the same university, but I am told I might be reading too much into it, LOL. Soha seems to be great to talk to, and she doesn’t appear to (easily) buy into the populist tendencies the ones who would tie me raakhis do/did, so…

    • Adab theBollywoodFan-ji,
      Nice choice, but don’t lie to me bhai, I know for a FACT that you chose Soha Ali Khan because she worked with Aamir in Rang De Basanti, hai na? ;) Helen would be awesome too, but Mallika Sherawat is way too sexy for raakhi tying, right? You’d have a lot of protecting to do if she continually carried on like this:

      Thanks for answering yaar! Oh yeah, and I can’t believe you outed Karan Johar here! :o

  7. I’d want my rakhi sister to be a dancer. Maybe it’s because my real sister was a dancer for a while when I was a kid, seriously pursuing ballet well into her teens (while I was well into my single digits) but she gave it up for the most part. And dancers are so important in these Indian films, at least to me (with dances that I like a hell of a lot more than western ballet, I might add), plus I think that sometimes they are also underappreciated if they aren’t well-known actresses too.

    But if she is to be a dancer and I am at the same time going to follow the rule mentioned above that I can’t really be attracted to her, that would eliminate a few. Yet, there still are some candidates out there, certainly.

    I thought of Kamala Lakshman, but she is perhaps a bit too awe-inspiring for me to think of as a sister type.

    And then I realized that for some reason there is a dancer out there whom I could picture as a sister easily, who also was a very nice and helpful sort of big sister to another dancer who’s been mentioned here.

    Using the supernatural time machine, etc….

    My rakhi sister would have to be Cuckoo! Absolutely. She seems like the perfect choice to me.

    • Richard-ji,
      Nice choice and you put some good thought into it. Yet even I am attracted to her and I’m straight, so I call shennanigans on that! Yet if it’s Cuckoo vs. say Jayshree T you have to choose from, I understand. I remember seeing Cuckoo in Andaz doing this dance and thinking I want her to do less “western” dance, more Indian. Remember this one?

      Thanks for the great answer.
      p.s. don’t you think Cuckoo has a small resemblance to Kangana Ranaut?

  8. Sita-ji, thank you for understanding that the no-attraction rule can be a bit limiting when we’re talking about our favorite Bollywood stars. :) Admittedly, maybe Cuckoo would not follow the rule perfectly either (I guess most great cabaret dancers wouldn’t :), but my first instinct was that it could not be someone I’m obviously in love with like Padmini of the ’50s and 60s… (I thought of Vyjayanthimala, but then in my mind’s eye I saw a scene from Amrapali, and I said to myself, no, that’s not going to work…)

    Thanks for the link to the nice Cuckoo dance – I understand why you felt the way you did, though it is still an interesting scene and a very nice dance.

    I haven’t seen all of Andaz yet, but of course I’ve watched clips on YouTube. The one I remember most is the song with Nargis and Cuckoo and Dilip all sitting around the piano – that’s a good one…

    Kangana Ranaut? Hmm, I sort of see some resemblance though I don’t know all that much about her, being that I have gotten very stuck in the past (recently, it was the ’50s, but I think I’ve slipped back into the ’40s now :)

    • Richard-ji,
      Indeed, choosing from the dancers makes it double hard to remove the attraction factor, though you could use it as a manipulation to get close to them as a “brother” and then when their defenses are down, switch gears! Now how could you choose between these 2: Cuckoo vs. Helen in Chalti Ka Naam Gadi :
      :)

      • Unfortunately, I could never engage in that kind of deception…probably less because I’m such a good person than because I’m not a good actor myself, especially not in affairs of the dil. But anyway…

        That Helen-and-Cuckoo dance does present a difficult choice (whether it’s a matter of picking the more attractive one to scheme for, or picking the less attractive one for true siblinghood). But I think it might be a little easier for people who are into flexible eyebrows – especially when you get to the four-minute point.

  9. Ram Gopal Verma, because that’d be the only way to insure he never shot a long video of my ass gyrating.

    Okay, that was a little cynical. I’d like to tie a rakhi on Aamir, actually. I think he’d make a good older brother.

  10. Yes Richard-ji,
    at the 4 minute point in the video, Helen has demonstrated super eyebrow dexterity. That’s something I should add to my list to work on. ;)

  11. Richard, who are you trying to kid? There’s no way Cuckoo is sister material!!! Or if she is a sister it’s the kind who steals your boyfriend, and how could you defend that kind of behaviour?

    Sitaji, this is a great idea for a post, and you’ve had some great responses. Darshit has cleverly found his way into Mannat by tying Gauri, so there’d probably not be room for two interlopers in there. Shame, because all I can think of is tying a raakhi on Shah Rukh’s hand. I always enjoy those close up shots of his gorgeous hands, and I’m sure I’ve seen him tie many raakhis over his long career. Strangely, I can’t think of any particular examples. Can anyone help out? Oh, now that I’m thinking hands and arms I’m also thinking bangles, and THAT bangle scene in particular. Phew, must go and cool off.

    • Joss-ji,
      Is this the bangle scene you’re referring to?

      I love Bari Piya! I just about love all Shreya Ghoshal’s numbers though.
      Yes there have been some clever responses indeed. Thanks for calling out Richard along with me. :D Cuckhoo is too alluring for sister material.
      I’ll be taking a closer look at SRK’s hands next time I see them in a movie. I’d say why not choose him?

  12. I would tie a Rakhi on Ritesh Deshmukh cuz he is sooooooooo adorable. He seems like such a cute person, so yeah him. Other cute people, like Shahid and John and Zayed, and all those people are good too. At least I could meet them this way. :) I’d even actually tie one on a little bit older people like Aamir Khan and Salman Khan, because Aamir Khan is just AMAZING with his movies, and Salman has the best 90s movies.

    But going to older people, I’d say Amitabh Bachchan and Dharmendra.

    Good post by the way :)

    • BollywoodRocks-ji,
      Thanks for appreciating the post. I’ve been enjoying checking out your blog and I like all the polls. You’ve got some excellent choices of all ages. I went for the much older brother direction myself. Look forward to seeing more at your blog yaar. :)

  13. No, this is the bangle scene I meant:

    He definitely isn’t thinking of Kajol as his sister here. More like his victim. This is Shah Rukh in predatory mode. Some how he manages to be convincing and attractive though.

Leave a Reply

