My filmi fotos of India. Part III.


As described in my filmi fotos of India part I and part II, I found bits of Bollywood all around, and unfortunately I most often saw them from a moving vehicle and my camera was turned on too late for a good picture. This photo taken near Agra is distorted by the car window, but I like the color and the fact that two of my favorites, Amrish Puri and Ajay Devgan are in the movie poster. I don’t know what film this poster is from since I can’t read Devanagari script. If you zoom into the photo you can make out more stars.

india0809-8002

india0809-457-11

The most popular films during my visit to India were Aamir Khan’s Ghajini and Shahrukh Khan’s Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi as these theaters all show.

delhiindia0809-777

Ludhiana.india0809-356 ludhianamallindia0809-752

india0809-555-1

Ghajini. Delhi.India.08.09

amul1-b

In addition to the Ghajini film posters, there were also these other Ghajini ads all over. At first I didn’t understand this Ghajini cartoon, but then realized it was a cute advertisement for Amul butter. If you look closely you can see the Ghajini cartoon arms read I slice bread and I make sandwich. Read about the advertisement and see a much better picture of it HERE.

gajini2india0809-7531

I liked the cute ad, but I also like butter and Aamir Khan. Here’s another picture from the train where you can see some Amul butter:

Food on the Shatabdi Express train. Amritsar to Delhi.1.09

Food on the Shatabdi Express train. Amritsar to Delhi.1.09

I can’t talk about Aamir Khan without giving equal time to Shahrukh Khan. This photo of SRK was taken in Ludhiana. The car broke down across from the sign. No problem though, since it left me some time to worship the sign of SRK. Enjoy!

SRKinLudhiana

SRKinLudhiana.2

Update: Thanks to theBollywoodFan for identifying the movie poster from the first image as Sangram (1993).  He also let me know that Amul did a similar ad campaign when Rang De Basanti was released in 2006.  Here’s their cute Young De Basanti image.

10 thoughts on “My filmi fotos of India. Part III.

  1. Lovely post! I like that Amul butter ad. They had one during Rang De Basanti (2006) titled ‘Young De Basanti — Taste buds awaken’! :)

    That very first picture for the Ajay-Amrish starrer is for Sangram. Also in that picture, what’s up with those hearts on the rickshaws? Reminds me of Subod from Dil Chahta Hai! ROTFL…

    And ref: “I can’t talk about Aamir Khan without giving equal time to Shahrukh Khan,” is this also intended to work in the opposite direction? It’s not like I’m not biased, though. ;)

  2. theBollywoodFan-ji,
    Adab. Thanks for the tip on the Young De Basanti. Here’s a LINK to that image.

    Too cute.
    Thanks for that Sangram answer. I’ll amend the post to reflect that. So maybe that theater has been out of business since that movie was released in 1993 and that’s why the posters remain. Maybe that movie put it out of business.

    LOL, no that Aamir/SRK equality in posting statement wasn’t for you to follow. That would be asking you to make an effort against your dil. I would not ask such a thing. :)

  3. Thanks a lot for putting me on your blogroll.

    3rd installment of photoes is as interesting as the first one. Seems you have great fun in India. But can you put detailed post, what places you had visited? I m intrested on your views and feelings about my country.

  4. Sita ji

    Nice to see all that photos, so how was your india trip
    Was everything as expected, or you got some surprises too

    For your help, the name of the film with poster consisting Amrish puri and Ajay devgan, is “Sangram” (as you couldn’t read it)

  5. Hey Darshit,
    I’d seen you commenting on other blogs and it took me a minute to catch on that you have you’re own great blog. I will continue to post more on the trip. Briefly I can tell you now I went from Delhi, to Ludhiana, Mohali, Amritsar and Agra. I loved India. I had a marvelous time and was treated very well and ate a lot of great food and had wonderful company and saw many lovely sites. I plan on returning someday. More later Darshit! :)

    vivekmittal,
    My trip was great! Everything I expected and more. I think I was surprised a bit by the air quality in some places. I liked how busy and crazy things were at times, yet at the same time quite peaceful. I found people to be very curious about tourists and very helpful and warm. I hope to visit again sometime. Thanks for telling me the movie’s title too. :)

  6. Thanks for the link, Sita-ji. Maybe that theater was playing Sangram that week? It could be the going out of business feature too, of course. Wouldn’t that be funny? Or did you learn they’d shut down long ago?

  7. theBollywoodFan-ji,
    Well those signs looked so weathered that I bet the theater closed down and that happened to be the last film there. It’s sort of like when you drive by a gas station that lists the price as $1.22 and you they “Wow, I should fill up!” then realize the station closed way back when gas was $1.22. I figured something was up when I saw the late, great Amrish Puri on the poster.

  8. Aah, okay. Oh, and ref: that ‘equality in posting’ statement above, I was only asking if we could expect Bollywood Food Club to follow it in the other direction :P I’m only kidding, of course.

Leave a Reply

