Hey Minneapolis! Here’s something to be thankful for: A Thanksgiving Bollywood Film Festival!


main_photo_26125

Now here’s something to be thankful for…

An Exclusive Thanksgiving Holiday Event:

Bollywood Film Festival in the Twin Cities.

If you missed any of these great blockbusters, here is your chance to watch them again on the big screen! At only $2 a ticket, these movies are worth watching over and over again!  All are showing at the Brookdale 8 Cinemas at 5810 Shingle Creek Pkwy, Brooklyn Center, Minnesota. Phone: 763-566-6721 

Om Shanti Om – Thur, Nov 27th, 9:00 PM
Starring Shahrukh Khan in one of the biggest movies of all times. Brought to you by the team of Main Hoon Na, Om Shanti Om is a riot of colors, chart busting music and entertainment. For any avid hindi film viewer, it doesn’t get any better than this!

Jodha Akbar – Fri, Nov 28, 9:00 PM
ing Hrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai, Jodha Akbar is an epic romance made by the director of Lagaan.  

Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na – Sat, Nov 29th, 9:00 PM
Introducing Imraan Khan (nephew of Aamir Khan), this is the biggest movie for the Generation Y. This movie will make you feel young again. Music composed by maestro A R Rahman.

Taare Zameen Par – Sun, Nov 30th, 2:00 PM
Starring Aamir Khan who is also directing the film. Taare Zameen Par is the heart warming story of a little boy and is hailed as the best movie of the year.

Spread the word and bring your friends for a fun night-out at rock bottom prices!

DIRECTIONS

32 thoughts on “Hey Minneapolis! Here’s something to be thankful for: A Thanksgiving Bollywood Film Festival!

  1. Namaste ajnabi!
    I ended up not going to any of them since I’d seen them all before, sometimes more than once. I had to go to see one of my favorite local/national bands in concert one of the nights, Mint Condition.
    American Idol, Paris Bennet opened the show, so that was a nice treat and her mom performed too, excellent. See, I have non-Bollywood entertainment tastes too. :)

    Nicki,
    Thanks for posting about it. :)

    theBollywoodFan-ji,
    Ji, Minneapolitans is a fine term. Or you could even say Twin Citians to include our other city, St. Paul. :) Whoever picked the films did a great job as they are the definitely some of year’s very best. I’m thinking that the one you would not attend is OSO?

  2. They’re definitely the four best of the past year and a half, no doubt. The one I might slightly hesitate to go see on screen would be, yes, you got it ;) You know me well Sita-ji. It’s more to do with the theme of the film than anything, I promise!

    Cheers!

  3. salman khan-ji,
    Of course I saw Delhi 6 as well as Billu Barber at your theater and loved them both. If you are working there, I am the gori who always demands that you get Tamil and Telugu movies with English subtitles. :)

    • salman khan-ji,
      Namaste yaar! Sadly, I’m not at all even close to being fluent in Hindi at all sir-ji. I listen to so much in the movies that I can understand some Hindi. Mai tori tori Hindi samjhī hoon. As they say in India, what is your good name? So that I will ask for you. I was there last Friday for Delhi 6 and also a couple weeks back for Billu. At the Billu showing I demanded English translations fo the Telugu and Tamil films, which I do nearly every time I’m there. :D

  4. salman-ji,
    Tee-kay. I will say “Aapka kya naam hai?” Or better yet, I will say in English, perhaps with a fake Indian English accent, or perhaps not, “What is your good name, yaar?” Then I will ask for a samosa and a Thumbs Up. Then I will turn around 2 times and jump once, this way you can tell it’s me. :D Or even easier, just look for probably one of the only goris there and it’s possible it’s me. I was at the 9:00pm show last Friday of Delhi 6 and was wearing a navy blue coat, skirt and boots. I came alone and 2 other gori came after me to meet me there.

  5. Fair enough! Thanks!

    I sincerely thank you for promoting Bollywood cinema and would like to show my token of appreciation. How about a free admission for any upcoming Bollywood movie?

    BTW, I registered a domain name called Bollyholic.com.

    Dhanyawad for all the good work and I owe you for the term Bollyholic.

  6. salman khan-ji
    Surkriya! Of course I’ll take you up on that offer. And many thanks to you for helping to bring Bollywood cinema to the big screen in Minnesota. I may have to buy that Bollyholic domain name from you. :)

  7. I am curious… do either of you think there are more goris showing up to the movies after slumdog? I went to Billu on the 14th 6pm show and noticed more than usual. I myself had 3 friends with for their 1st in theater Bollywood movie (they loved it and will be back!) and I noticed several other couples and some younger children. Usually it is me and only one maybe 2 other goris. Seemed like twice as many as usuall. I am just wondering… I have had lots of people ask to borrow one of my movies or ask for recommendations to rent from Netflix since Slumdog came out. I take my “recruiting” very seriously!

  8. jjake-ji,
    I personally have recruited heavily from my gori/gora community. :) I was at the Saturday show of Billu opening week, maybe it started at 2 or 4 can’t remember, and I brought 2 gori with me. I also brought a couple to Delhi 6 and know these goris have seen a couple more films in the theater, starting with the Thanksgiving shows that ran there. I’ve also recruited about 4 more gora/gori. One gora friend of mine in turn has recruited his family and friends now too. Even thought I liked Slumdog, we real Indian Film Industry fans all know it’s not Bollywood, but takes the best of Bollywood elements to make the film. I do have more people asking for recommendations now since its release last fall and even more since the awards. I wrote a bit about my experience which you are also seeming to experience too here:

    http://bollywoodfoodclub.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/slumdog-bas/

    Hey, the more the merrier, right? I just want people to be able to know the Slumdog is not Bollywood, and that there’ a lot or great Bollywood out there to discover. I think what’s bothersome to me is that Slumdog, while excellent, is getting credited as being Bollywood. I was also really bothered when reports wehn the film first came out kept saying stuff like, “and it stars a bunch of unknowns.” Ah, if they only knew Anil Kapoor and Irfan Khan’s careers to name just a few of the unknowns from the film. I don’t like the arrogance of Bollywood in that way. I could go on some more, but I’ll shut up now. :) Thanks for your visit jjake61. See you at the movies! :)

  9. Thanks Jake and Suzy for your discovery and interest in Bollywood movies. I think we should start building the website http://www.bollyholic.com rightnow when you type it’s redirecting to bollywoodfoodclub.wordpress.com as it’s Suzy’s idea.

    I will be at the movie theatres tomorrow and day after if you guys have sometime this weekend so that we can meet and talk about the bollywood cinema.

  10. salman khan-ji,

    Dhanyavaad! We shall be in touch over this soon. Great idea. Sadly, I could not make it up to brookdale cinemas this weekend, but hopefully I can in the coming weeks and we will talk. All the best! :)

  11. Thanks Suzi! That looks great!!

    How about a free admission for Tasveer for Tomorrow to just to show our token of appreciation for promoting Bollywood cinema in Twin Cities.

  12. Hi Suzi,

    It has been a while since I saw you on the forum. How are you?

    Hope things are going well with you. I am gald that they finally called off the strike in Bollywood and now we can look forward for some big Bollywood releases.

    BTW, Kambhakth Ishq will be releasing on July 3rd,2009. Hope to see you then.

    Thanks!

    • salmankhan-ji,
      Ahhh, shukriya, dhanyavaad for that. I unfortunately didn’t make it to the theater this week until yesterday (Sunday) to see “Wake Up Sid!” and last week to see “What’s Your Rashee”. SO glad to see that Magadheera is being held over. Saw that, even with out subtitles, and loved it and will try and see that again. I will be back to the theater to catch both Blue and Main Aur Mrs Khanna. Keep the movies coming and Happy Diwali to you and your family!

    • salmankhan-ji,
      Sorry I missed the theater this past weekend. Thanks for wishing me a sparkly Diwali. I hope you and your family had the same. I’ll let you know next time I plan to make it to the movie house yaar. :)

  13. Salman bhai,
    Thanks again, sorry I have be unable to make it to the theater in a couple weeks, but hope to soon. I am looking forward to all of the great movies showing at Brookdale 8. So many great films fright now! I’m delighted to see that Magadheera is back. :) I loved that one, even without the subtitles!

Leave a Reply

