The Pool (2008) It’s not Bollywood, but it stars Nana Patekar!


I’m on a non-Bollywood streak, but like yesterday’s post, this movie has a big Bollywood star, so I have to post about it.  I saw The Pool (2008) (not to be confused with That Pool) last week at an art house theater, so I’m not surprised that I was shushed. Here’s how it happened.  I’d skimmed an article about the movie and thought I’d read that there were a lot of non-actors in it. It takes place in India and it’s about a pool.  I love pools!  I love India! So I had to see it. So I sat there, and quietly whispered just a couple of things to my friend during the movie.  One being, “It looks just like Mexico!” The other thing I may have said above a whisper, because my heart wanted to shout, NANA PATEKAR!  I didn’t know HE was in THIS!  I LOVE HIM! That’s when the shush came.  I know talking is annoying in a movie theater, especially an art house theater, where the intellectual gather, just waiting for a chance to shush.  The poor guy that shushed me obviously didn’t understand just who Nana Patekar is and thus why he could evoke such enthusiasm in me.  He actually first made the shush noise, followed by, “Hey come on guys.” I thought No sir-ji, you come on! Why aren’t YOU excited to see Nana?

Here’s the trailer for the film:

synopsis:

Daydreaming about one day getting an education, Venkatesh works as a “room boy” in a hotel in Panjim, Goa, in India, and he sells plastic bags on the side with his young friend, Jhangir, to make ends meet. When he becomes enchanted by a sublime residential pool, Vankatesh gets entangled with the mysterious family that inhabits the home. His relationship with the rich father and his cynical, sophisticated daughter disrupt his fixed ideas and unexpectedly alters his destiny. (source)

Now back to the shushing guy.  I wanted to say this to him: “Do you even KNOW who Nana Patekar is!?!?!  Did you see him in Salaam Bombay?  Did you see him in Parinda (1989: Winner, Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award )!? Apaharan? Taxi Number 9211? How about that psycho he played in Shakti-The Power?” Then after saying that to the shusher, I’d want him to face Nana, looking at him like this!

Now do you still want to shush me?  I didn’t think so!  Of course Nana is excellent in this very sweet film and now if you go you won’t be surprised that he’s in the film, so you won’t make any noise and thus you won’t be shushed. And to the shusher, I apologize to you again, as I did that night.

 

5 thoughts on “The Pool (2008) It’s not Bollywood, but it stars Nana Patekar!

  1. You know, the only thing I’ve seen him in so far is Bluffmaster, which of course I loved. I think the next thing in my queue with him in it is Khamoshi.

    LOL about the shushing tag!

  2. Thanks for the warning. Now that I know, I will remember not to be too surprised at seeing him in the movie and will not give someone an opportunity to shush me. :-) But seriously, some people are just so uptight about noise in the theatre – as if the high decibel dolby speakers arent loud enough to drown out any whispers nearby!

  3. ajnabi-ji!
    I haven’t seen Khamoshi, but it seems like a must see for any Nana fan. Thanks for reminding me to add it to my queue friend. :)

    bollyviewer-ji
    I’m glad you will heed my warning. :) Not to avoid completely taking responsibility for my few theater comments, but yeah, I think that guy was just waiting to shush anyone.

    Nicki,
    Right on!

  4. Pingback: THAT Bollywood Pool! « Bollywood Food Club

Leave a Reply

