Happy Independence Day my Indian dosto. Jai Hind! Inquilab Zindabad! Bharat Mataki Jay! Vande Mataram!


 

Happy Independence Day to you!  We all eventually get our freedom from the Brittishers, hai na? Since I recently watched The Legend of Bhagat Singh, I’m feeling a bit revolutionary, so I also wish you on this day celebrating your long fought struggle for freedom a very happy Inquilab Zindabad! To read more about The Legend of Bhagat Singh, stop over to Philip’sFil-ums.

 

If I somehow developed Tourette syndrome I would like to have a Bollywood-style Tourette syndrome, and the phrase I’d shout out most often would be Inquilab Zindabad! I’d also shout out the following, of course using a very heavy Hindi accent: Jai Hind! Shut up! Get out! All the best! Scoundrel! What would you shout out if you developed a Bollywood flavored Tourette syndrome?

 

On this Independence Day click over to TheBollywoodFan, where you can find a great post on Indian patriotic films.  Thanks to blog posters-n-friends, jen AND Brahamandam, who both sent me a link to this Amitabh’s India Poised, perfect for viewing on this Independence Day. Enjoy, and of course Inquilab Zindabad!  Jai Hind!

And with feedback from one of my NRI consultants, Milind-ji, I will also add Bharat Mataki Jay! and Vande Mataram!

 

14 thoughts on “Happy Independence Day my Indian dosto. Jai Hind! Inquilab Zindabad! Bharat Mataki Jay! Vande Mataram!

  1. Hi Sita-ji! Happy Independence Day, aap ko bhi (to you too)!
    Thank you for the link! And thank you for all the other interesting info as always, including the link to the review of The Legend of Bhagat Singh.

    I am particularly in agreement with the bit from the last paragraph of Philip’s review that discussed the real situation within India versus what was depicted in films. That’s the void Rang De Basanti filled, addressing the political party (noted in that last paragraph) while not once naming it. Thanks for sharing!

    Jai Hind!

  2. Adab Nawab,
    Glad you liked Philip’s review, which are always so great and provide a historical context in which to better understand the film. He’s sort of like a priest interpreting the bible of Bollywood. I also liked his “angry young man” comparisons to older Amitabh films. Excellent perspective he has there. Glad it’s OK with you that I linked you in too, sans permission. Do they have this saying in Hindi:
    “It’s easier to ask for forgiveness than pemission.”
    And of course to you I say, Jai Hind! Inquilab Zindabad! Bharat Mataki Jay! Vande Mataram!

  3. shweta!
    Thanks for your visit. I’m not a Dr., but it seems that you may be coming down with Tourette syndrome. What are you shouting out? JAI HIND! INQUILAB ZINDABAD! SCOUNDREL!

  4. Well… Happy Raksha Bandhan to all my brothers out there (and sisters who I would consider my brothers!)!

    Where to even begin? The Hindi phrases that enter into my mind and are out of my mouth at frequent and random intervals throughout the day are as follows:

    Ek minute, ek minute!
    Chup! (or Chup karo!)
    Kya Hua?
    Idhar ao!
    Kya bat hai?
    Va! Va!

    Now of course since my two dogs are trilingual (their Hindi is much better than their Spanish), the above-mentioned commands (and one question) are extremely familiar to them, so I don’t know if my enthusiastic use of these choice Bollywood favorites really qualifies as something along the lines of a nervous disorder. However:

    “You see, the whole country of the system is juxtapositioned by the hemoglobin in the atmosphere because you are a sophisticated rhetorician intoxicated by the exuberance of your own verbosity!” “WHAT?”

    When that one comes flying out of my mouth at a million miles an hour and out of nowhere, as it is wont to do at very odd times and places (fortunately not in front of anyone!), it gives me pause: I DO think there must be medication out there for THAT!

    Thanks, Sita-ji for such a great topic!

  5. jen!
    Nice addition to the freaky Amar Akbar Anthony tune. :)
    I also thank you for indulging my question. You have some excellent phrases there to spurt out. I’d also like to add to my list “Koi Baat Nahin” said 5-6 times in rapid succession. And also after seeng your va, I’d add “Arre wah!”
    There’s a link on the side bar to this blog for Dhoom radio out of Jersey and I listen to it from time to time and the commercials are almost as entertaining as the music. My favorite commercial starts out with a hearty “Arre wah! Kya khana!” Click over to listen for it. They only play it 4 times an hour, so you are likely to catch it. :)

    Thanks for reminding me about Raksha Bandhan!

    http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/001200808161866.htm

    http://www.thepeninsulaqatar.com/Display_news.asp?section=World_News&subsection=India&month=August2008&file=World_News2008081521943.xml

  6. Adab Sita-ji: Speaking of terms used in rapid succession (great thought, Jen!), my favorite is ‘Sochne De’ (let me think), which I think Salman said repeatedly (I’d bet it was 4x, but I might be wrong) in a scene in Maine Pyaar Kiya (1989).

    And I hope this doesn’t sound too cheesy, but my unforgettable ‘Arey Wah’ moment (it was actually ‘Aday Wah’, in Awadhi) was in Lagaan (2001), when Kachra threw Bhuvan the ball, IIRC. Although ‘kya khaana!’ will always sound much more appealing :o)

    Cannot think of a commonly used Hindi phrase linking forgiveness and permission…you got me there. As I said, I think the more applicable one here is ‘Neki aur pooch pooch?!’ (need you ask when performing a good deed?).

    Cheers!

  7. Nicki,
    Same to you. :)

    Nawab theBollywoodFan,
    Thanks for telling me about the ‘Neki aur pooch pooch?!’ saying. :)

    ajnabi!
    Love it! :D
    Scoundrel! Scoundrel! Scoundrel!

  8. Sita-ji, I really enjoyed this movie (though it has been a while since I saw it) and thought that Ajay Devgan delivered an electrifying performance in the title role. Philip mentioned the Bobby Deol and Sonu Sood versions that I haven’t seen, but there is also a Bhagat Singh biopic starring Manoj Kumar.

    What did you think of the song ‘Mera Rang de Basanti Chola’? I’ve heard both A.R. Rahman’s and Anand Raaj Anand’s versions, and both give me goosebumps. The picturization at the end was particularly poignant. The three young men singing (perhaps also in reference to Mother India) “Mother, color my cloak saffron” and Farida Jalal following them from behind the wall, it’s always hard to keep a dry eye. Not many Hindi films have really moved me, but this one certainly did.

    Speaking of Amitabh Bachchan and revolution, wasn’t he originally named Inquilab by his father?

  9. Namaste salek,
    So happy to see you here with your thoughtful comments!
    I agree about Ajay’s electrifying performance, but then again i like Ajay in jsut about everything I’ve seen him in, particularly Omkara. I’m glad you pointed out the versions that Philip recommended, which I too should check out.

    this was also interesting:
    http://www.hinduonnet.com/thehindu/fr/2002/02/01/stories/2002020100790100.htm

    And the Manoj Kumar film you’re talking about is Kranti?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kranti

    Yes, I did enjoy the song from the movie,

    and your comment sent me to this one too, which is wonderful:

    Also salek, I do remember that about Amitabh’s alternative name and thank to you for pointing that out. :)
    http://www.expressindia.com/news/fullstory.php?newsid=85696

    Thanks again for you thoughtful comments friend.

  10. Hi Sita-ji,

    Thanks for the link to the article. I’ve never heard of the Pakistani Bhagat Singh biopic, but there is a Pakistani version of Devdas coming out soon that I’m looking forward to.

    I disagree with the article’s opinion of Lajja as a “failed tribute”. The film had a relevant message and sincere performances, and the cast alone was worth seeing it (Manisha, Madhuri, and Rekha – all in the same movie!).
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lajja_(2001_film)

    The Manoj Kumar film I was referring to was Shaheed (1965)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shaheed_(1965_film)

    On the topic of patriotic heroes, have you seen Shyam Benegal’s Bose: The Forgotten Hero?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netaji_Subhas_Chandra_Bose:_The_Forgotten_Hero

    Thanks for sharing that last article as well. Had no idea that the Bachchans had connections with the Kapoors (though Abhishek’s engagement to Karisma now makes more sense). I now have even greater respect for Amitabh after reading how he strived to make a name for himself on his own.

    Lastly, I think it’s a shame that Farida Jalal has basically disappeared from Bollywood. Kirron Kher (who I also like) now seems to dominate the maternal roles.

  11. Namaste selek!
    Thanks for the wonderful information and links.

    I’m excited to see the pakistani version of Devdas.

    I completely agree that any movie that stars Manisha, Madhuri, and Rekha in the same movie I’d see and like, even if it was bad. :) ANd when I followed your link and read about the REST of the cast: “Jackie Shroff, Anil Kapoor and Ajay Devgan. Urmila Matondkar and Sonali Bendre perform item numbers,” it’s a must see now.

    I have not seen Shyam Benegal’s Bose: The Forgotten Hero, but will make a point to get to it eventually as it sounds interesting. I love learning history through films, even thought it might not be exactly accurate. :)

    I also agree with you about wishing there was more Farida Jalal to be seen, though I love Kirron Kher too. I also like Reema Lagoo in her mother roles.

    Thanks for the great comment. :)

Leave a Reply

