Video of the Day: “Reshmi Salwar Kurta Jaali Ka” from Naya Daur (1957)


Dosto! Sometimes I love a movie so much that I could post so many screen images and videos from it that it would amount to having you see the entire movie. Such is the case with Naya Daur (1957). Just look at these swell images and I know you will understand my excitement:

With images this exciting and beautiful, imagine how enjoyable it was to see the entire movie. I’ve already posted about Naya Daur here before, but I’m not through. I loved Minoo Mumtaz and Kumkum pictured here in “Reshmi Salwar Kurta Jaali Ka” from this classic film. This is another spectacular song by O. P. Nayyar and lyricist Sahir Ludhianvi. The playback singers are Asha Bhosle and Shamshad Begum, who is said to be one of the first playback singers in the Indian film industry. “Shamshad became a national rage between the 1940s and mid-1960s rendering songs in her nasal voice, which helped her carve her independent–and till date unchallenged–niche in the world of music.” (wikipedia)


Thanks to oldbollysongs for posting this great video! 

Reshmi Shalwar Kudta Jali Ka from Naya Daur (New age) a Bollywood Classic song from an excellent movie re-made in color version. This song is brilliantly sung by Shamshad Begum. Naya Daur is a 1957 Indian drama film starring Dilip Kumar, Vyjayanthimala, Ajit and Jeevan. Originally filmed in Black and white, the film was colourized and re-released on 3 August 2007.

Lyrics in Hindi, and if you find them in English or want to translate them, please post.

12 thoughts on “Video of the Day: “Reshmi Salwar Kurta Jaali Ka” from Naya Daur (1957)

  1. Ooh it’s so PINK! I have only seen this film in black and white, and it’s a good one. I especially love this song, and pretty much every song Sahir Ludhianvi wrote lyrics for.

    I may need to get the colorized version after all!

  2. Namaste memsaab. I was able to pick this one up at my local library. It’s like the color in the colorized Mughal-E-Azam, rich and oh so technicolor. Living color!

    • You LIKE the colourised Mughal-e-Azam??!! Arre vah! “rich and oh so technicolor” are not the words I think of with when I look at the crude vandalising desecration of these two films by the chimps who threw random splodges of garish pastels all over them. Chacun a son gout, I suppose, which is appropriate, because watching these films in their colourised versions gives me gout. :)

  3. Maggie! Beep Beep! You cannot hide behind virginia’s name! I want to write “and whatnot” here, but don’t want to sound stupid, so just know I’m thinking it. Do you like the gender bending video?

  4. Pingback: Music Meme: Seven Songs « Rough In Here, Rougher Out There

  5. What’s funny is I’d just seen Naya Daur before the IFFLA schedule was announced, and I *still* went to see it on the big screen. I love all songs, and this one is particularly appealing for obvious reasons (blue is good! ;)

  6. theBollywoodFan-ji,
    Thanks for checking in nawab. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts on the IFFLA on your blog. How great you got to meet Anil. How fantastic that you got to see Naya Daur again and on the BIG screen. I bet that was fabulous. I’ve colorized myself (like the movie) green with envy. :)

  7. I adore this song, as with all the songs from the truly excellent Naya Daur. My favourite lyricist Sahir writing the words for my two favourite playback singers to sing, it doesn’t get much better than that. BUT I hate the eye-bleedingly awful colourisation. I am so very, very glad, my copy is B&W, and wish they had left well enough alone by not turnnig a classic film into some psychedlic toddler’s painting fantasy.

Leave a Reply

