Bob Dylan does Bollywood? “I Want You” from Life…in a Metro (2007)


bobdylan.jpgI love life with all its crazy twists and turns and surprises, just like Bollywood. And I love Life… in a Metro (2007). Within this movie there was such a surprise: hearing Minnesota’s own musical legend Bob Dylan. Minnesota is BFC headquarters, yet even sitting here in Minnesota I was blindsided by hearing Dylan in a Bollywood movie. At least it wasn’t him as a playback singer. Now THAT would really be wild! The scene with Dylan happened when Konkona Sen Sharma was at a pop (the Midwestern, Minnesotan term for “soda” or “cola”) machine. While she was trying to choose what drink to buy and day dreaming about a guy, the music in the background was Dylan’s “I Want You” so take a listen:

Thanks for the video thcarmine. Lyrics

Did I ever dream of posting a Bob Dylan tune here? Never! Kabhie ne! But such is the unexpected beauty of life. But back to what I’m here for: Bollywood! Filmfare mania continued! I’ve already posted about the winners for best actress and best female playback singer for the 53rd Annual Filmfare Awards here. Life… in a Metro was such a great movie and nabbed both best supporting actor awards for Irfan Khan and Konkona Sen Sharma.

lifeinametro.jpg

The cast was fantastic! It stars Shilpa Shetty, Kay Kay Menon, Konkona Sen Sharma, Sharman Joshi, Shiney Ahuja, Kangana Ranaut, Irfan Khan, and Dharmendra. It tells the tales of the individual and interrelated lives of seven people living in Mumbai. To find out a bit more go to the film’s website. Like I’ve said here before, I deal with the more superficial analysis of Bollywood films, so instead of a review, take in these nice images from the film:

Dharmendra’s character got to share the some of the wisdom of Bollywood:

metrodarmendre.jpg

While watching I finally figured out why Shilpa Shetty‘s looks confused me: She’s what a a child of Tabu + Jennifer Aniston would look like, right? Hain na?

metroshineyshilpa.jpg

I love Shiney Ahuja! We all know what this can really mean:

metroshineycoffee.jpg

And this is precisely WHY one must be careful when offered a “cup of coffee,” since such a proposition can sometimes turn out like this:

metroshilpashiney.jpg

Yes, I do love you too Shiney! But I also LOVE Irfan Khan! THIS is why he won the 53rd Annual Filmfare Award for best supporting actor:

metroirfan.jpg

And you are looking good to me, Irfan. I LOVE Konkona Sen Sharma! THIS is why is why she won the 53rd Annual Filmfare Award for best supporting actress:

metrokonkona.jpg

That’a right girl! Tell him!

For more on the movie, check out The Bolly Blog.

26 thoughts on “Bob Dylan does Bollywood? “I Want You” from Life…in a Metro (2007)

  1. Renegade Eye, my comrade!
    Thanks for stopping in and what an interesting little piece of trivia. I remember his daughter went to the same college that I attended (Macalester in St. Paul, MN) and he was rumored to be on campus a couple of times, but I paid it no mind. Had I had known then what I know now, I would have approached him with some type of item for trade.

  2. Ok I really want to watch either Life in a metro or Naya Daur – which in your opinion should I watch? I’m a bit afraid of the over the top patriotism of Naya Daur…how bad is it?

  3. That’s a tough choice dw007. They are both well worth watching. In my Bollywood notebook they both get a 7.5 or 8 out of 10. “Naya Daur” is worth a watch for the music alone. But I adore Irfan and Konkona and their characters in “Life…in a Metro.” But Vyjayanthimala is SO CUTE in Naya Daur, and Dilip-ji played such a likable character and was hot! But then in “Life…in a Metro” you get Shiney AND Dharmendra. Also, Kangana Ranaut plays a more subtle version of a woman on the edge here, a role she’s done in the other 2 movies I’ve seen her in, and she does that very well. “Naya Daur” isn’t so much patriotic as a story of the triumph of humanity over inhumanity. As a non-desi American gori, I was very proud of my mother India after watching “Naya Daur” being a citizen of the world and all, so maybe it is patriotic! Jai Hind! Bollywood has me in its web, so I can’t recommend just one or the other my dost. Well watch “Naya Daur” first for the historical/classic value, and wash it down with “Life…in a Metro” because that’s going for the “art-house” vein, thus a good balance.

  4. Well thanks for the explanations Sitaji. Knowing now Naya Daur is more humanity vs inhumanity i think i’ll watch that one first since i’m more in classics mode at the moment rather then recent movies.

    I’m most of the time ‘hindustan zindabad’ but sometimes the patriotism is more like propaganda and i don’t like patriotism in any form feel like being forced and in your face. Mother India was a bit full on in the end, Sunny Deol movies and Ab Ab Laut Chalen are more the types i don’t like.

    Anyway thanks for the help its much appreciated! Looking forward to your upcoming recommendations.

  5. hahaha! thanks for that! When it comes to movies i guess i just understand only hairy anil kapoors.

    I’lll get round to seeing them and will report back.

  6. If you really want to watch something. watch The Apartment. Its a black and white hollywood classic from which Life in a Metro has been lifted lock stock and barrel. Except for the Shiney-Shilpa and dharmendra-nafisa ali’s tracks which were of course used to make the movie 3 hours long.

  7. I had mixed feelings about Metro. I enjoyed the performances (Irrfan and Konkona Sen were excellent), and the soundtrack (not as it was integrated in the film, but as a standalone music album) but thought that there were some moments that were way too dramatic.

    Your picture showcase is very good. I particularly liked the commentary around the two with Shiney Ahuja! =)

  8. Glad you liked the screen captures theBollywoodFan.;) Yes, there were some very melodramatic scenes for sure, but done ouside the context of a more masala film, they seem awkward and distracting. I like all the actors, and like you, particularly thought Irfan Khan, and Konkona Sen Sharma dominated the movie, and it was their storyline that I most enjoyed. I love how Kay Kay Menon so easily played a scoundrel! Well done and so creepy. I also liked seeing, Kangana Ranaut playing another head case. I’ve only seen her playing the same type of extremely mentally unstable character, (“Woh Lamhe,” “Gangster”) and this time it was the same, though she was slightly less disturbed, thus I could see more of her ability as an actress being a bit more subtle. And Sharman Joshi, the other semi new comer for me captured my interest too. I’d seen him in “Rang De Basanti” and “Golmaal” and had that “I’ve seen this guy before” idea through the movie and had to look up his filmography. I look forward to seeing more of him. Shilpa Shetty and Shiney Ahuja had such an uncomfortable/creepy storyline, but he is so hot, I tolerated it. :) And it was so nice to see Dharmendra. I am just so easily to please as a Bollywood fan that it’s often all just great with me. I thought how the music track was integrated was interesting, with the wandering minstrels type thing. It was a true ensemble movie, and I think it stood more on the star power than the actual movie, becasue that’s just how shallow I am. :) In my fantasy world who would I choose? Ifran or Shiney? It’s a tie! For my fantasy BFF (best friend forever) of all the ladies in the cast, it would have to be Konkona.

  9. Ditto to the Kangana Ranaut comments! And I agree with you about being ‘easy to please’. I consider myself to be in that category as well. In this case, though, given the film’s success, I was obviously in the minority.

    And if you are a Shiney fan…have you seen Khoya Khoya Chand? I thought he did very well in it. Soha Ali Khan plays the head case this time, in what I thought was a pretty good movie. (http://thebollywoodfan.blogspot.com/2008/03/khoya-khoya-chand-classy-period-film.html).

  10. Thanks for the recommendation theBollywoodFan. That looks like a good one, I’ve heard of it but never seen it.
    OK, I may have jinxed myself, for just hours after writing how easy to please I am with Bollywood films, I watched “Apne.” Have you seen that? Whoa! Ridiculous, yet still enjoyable, but really pushing even my limits. :)

  11. :) Yes, I’ve seen Apne. I thought it was decent, but that’s probably because I fast forwarded through most of the scenes with the boxing, which gets old fast. Still, some good actors, one good song, and a decent plot made it bearable.

  12. LOL, I forwarded through all those scenes too. I got very tripped up by the nemisis, Luca Gracia, who sometimes was also called Garcia. I was like, “Hey Shamaroo, which is it Garcia or Gracia?” And there was a line where he said something like, “Go ahead and pray to your crores of Gods…” disrespecting Hinduism, but again I was like, “Look Gracia/Garcia, we don’t use the word crores in the USA, especially black dudes, so how do you know it!?” And then I thought was he supposed to be Dominican, Puerto Rican or what with that surname, but then again I get back to the Garcia/Gracia problem. SO MUCH SO THAT I HAD TO LOOK IT UP!

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0113908/

    IMDB has it as Garcia, but still no peace of mind for me. :)
    but look theBollywoodFan, his bio switches it BACK TO GRACIA!
    “Some of Jonnie’s film credits includes films such as the international blockbuster, “Apne”; in which Jonnie plays the fearsomely complicated and indomitable heavy weight boxing champion Luca Gracia…First Afro-American actor to have a major role in a Bollywood international film.”

    I thoroughly enjoyed Sunny saying “I will (pronounced “vill” of course) kill you!” The whole fake hair on Dharmendra and his progeny was fun to see, especially Sunny’s non-moving hair. I LOVED Bobby’s arm injury and overcoming it to become a rock star dancer, then completely overcoming the injury in that scene with his dad.

    OK, wait, now I like this movie more than while watching it. Thanks theBollywoodFan, all better now. :)

  13. It’s funny that a song from my favorite 2007 movie with Dharmendra in it (‘Johnny Gaddar’) started playing a couple of minutes ago :)

    Not surprised on those counts. Some of my non-Hindi-speaking cousins have always complained about the metrics being way off at times, and I agree. The Garcia v Gracia thing speaks to the lack of attention to detail, which is inexcusable.

    Oh, and since we are fans of tight slaps, in case you haven’t heard this one, you might enjoy this the sound byte about 3:13 into this song :) [the song itself is silly but somewhat funny because it uses several relevant pop culture terms of the student demographic].

    http://ww.smashits.com/music/hindi-movie/play/songs/6310/MP3-Mera-Pehla-Pehla-Pyaar/56276/Chori-Chori.html

  14. Sometimes I find the lack of attention to detail almost endearing. :) Great clip and glad to know you’re a fan of the tight slaps too. They catch me everytime! I’m still, “No WAY!” each time I see one. I’m not violent, but there’s something so shocking about them being used, and used often, in Bollywood that is entertaining. I admit it.

  15. My experience with the term ‘tight slap’ has been that it is deeply infused in the South Asian languages and hence cultures. Children fear it and adults laugh about it. In a more popular context, it is often used as a synonym for ‘kick-butt’, so if you went to a sports bar in India or Pakistan, you will likely hear the term used there.

    Still, there’s no real substitute for the graphic depiction of the ‘tight slap’. Entertaining indeed, especially when used in a flourish as with Paresh Rawal in Welcome. But those were rather silly compared to a tight slap for, say, a disobedient son or a philandering husband. :)

  16. Quite interesting theBolllywoodFan. Glad to know more of the history of the term. I’ve thought that perhaps this unfortunate slapping (which in the form of Bollywood I LOVE) is a sad historical result of the Raj and those Brittishers. Another thing I hear often that is almost as startling is “Shut up!” Which to me as a US native would have never been allowed to say as a child, it’s nearly as bad using profanity. So I’m shocked to hear it in Bollywood films, I just think, “The Raj must have done that,” maybe coming in and slapping and saying “Shut UP!”

  17. LOL. You have a good point. ‘Shut up’ is really not considered rude if said the ‘right’ way. Needless to say, I learned that fast when I moved to the U.S. Not sure if it was an import from the Raj (I would guess it was — English was!). Teachers use it very liberally. Then again, who would mind Alisa singing a song that begins with the term?! ;)

    http://thebollywoodfan.blogspot.com/2007/07/shut-up-n-kiss-me-says-alisha.html

    Although this could’ve done without the ‘meow’s, seriously…

  18. Yes theBollywoodFan, that meow (a big shut up to the meow) is not acceptable, but the “shut up” is fine in this case. Very Paula Abdul in style in the video link here. I love Alisha for “Tere Ishq Mein Nachenge” & “Zooby Zooby Zooby”

  19. Irfan was the best part of this movie – still cant forget his, “But the blouse and petticoats are all stitched to *her* measurements!” lol

    She’s what a a child of Tabu + Jennifer Aniston would look like, right? ” – agreed.

    And Shiney can ask me up for a cup of coffee anytime. ;-)

  20. bollyviewer,
    Thanks for checking out this post, I thought the Irfan reference would be something you’d like. ;) I’d forgotten all about that clothing line you included, that WAS great!

Leave a Reply

