Video of the day: “Ye Ishq Hai” from Jab We Met (2007) featuring 53rd Filmfare winner, Kareena Kapoor


And the 53rd Filmfare Award for best actress goes to

Kareena Kapoor in Jab We Met.

Jab We Met (Hindi: जब वी मेट, English: When We Met) is a 2007 Hindi romantic comedy film. Directed and written by Imtiaz Ali, the film, produced by Dhillin Mehta under Shree Ashtavinayak Cinevision Ltd, stars Shahid Kapoor and Kareena Kapoor in their fourth film together. Dara Singh and Saumya Tandon, prominent actors from the north Indian film industry, played the roles of the lead character’s jab.jpgrelatives in the movie. The film tells the story of a feisty Punjabi…she is a very intelligent girl. She is a girl who is sent off track when she bumps into a depressed Mumbai businessman on an overnight sleeper to Delhi. While attempting to get him back on board when he alights at a station stop, both are left stranded in the middle of nowhere. Having walked out of his pressurised corporate job, the man has no destination in mind, until the girl forces him to accompany her back home and then on to elope with her secret boyfriend. (wikipedia)

Kareena performing at the Filmfare Awards, looking bilkul like the award:

filmfare-awards25.jpg award.gif

 

I think Kapoor is worthy of the award because she showed her character, Geet, could go from one extreme to the other. You know, like those comedy and tragedy masks of theater. Here’s visual proof of her great acting: A bubbly, chatty, happy Geet and a super sad Geet crying real tears: (yes, I cried too.)

jabcraze.jpg jabtruth.jpg

Enjoy this little clip about the 53rd Filmfare awards. I especially liked Shahrukh Khan saying he’d give his award to cute little Darsheel Safary, since he deserves it, but then he removes his offer, because he too deserves it as he’s older, thus he decides to keep it:

Opps!  that video was removed.  I’ll try and find it again to repost.

Like the last video posted, here’s playback singer Shreya Ghosal, with “Ye Ishq Hai” from Jab We Met. The music is by Pritam, with lyrics by Irshad Kamil, and the song is picturized on the 53rd filmfare winner for best actress, Kareena Kapoor:

Thanks for the video rawnee1983

Lyrics in Hindi & English.

For a great review of the film, check out The Bolly Blog.

7 thoughts on “Video of the day: “Ye Ishq Hai” from Jab We Met (2007) featuring 53rd Filmfare winner, Kareena Kapoor

  1. Kareena definitely deserves the award – I don’t think anyone else could’ve played Geet so well, with such natural charm. Other actors might have done an ok job of it, but I don’t think any of them would have ‘become’ Geet the way Kareena did.

  2. Thanks for stopping in Daddy’s Girl and your post on Katrina and your changing view of her is FANTASTIC. Readers check this out:

    http://ilovelovelovedharmendra.blogspot.com/2008/03/on-kareena-kapoor-and-jab-we-met.html

    BTW, I saw “Ek Chalis Ki Last Local”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ek_Chalis_Ki_Last_Local

    the other day and it was only OK, sort of a wacky comedy mystery, but I just kept loving to look at Abhay Deol’s face because it looks so much like his Uncle Dharmendra’s face. I thought you may like it.

  3. Agree with the comments above. She (finally) got the recognition she deserved with this film, which was suited to her strengths, in my humble opinion. Never a dull moment (through different phases of khushi and gham, as you note), and some stunning wardrobe (I mention this whenever I talk about the film, but it was so very spectacular, na?) made for a treat!

  4. Ajnabi,
    I think so too! I have really grown to love her. I like that best, when I am won over by an actress/actor when I didn’t really like them at first, which was the case with her, and her sister and Katrina Kaif. I was lukewarm on all 3 and now I love them.

    Adab Nawab theBollywoodFan,
    Did you like her in Chameli? I know you liked her in Asoka, as I did. Do you have a favorite Kareena performance? I even liked her in Don. I thought she rocked the “Yeh Mera Dil” very well. How can anyone compare to Helen-ji, but she really made a statement in that gold dress and I liked the picturization a lot, as well as her dancing.

    Yes the wardrobe was well suited to Kareena. She looked excellent in everything. I liked the one a lot she wore in the video featured at your site here:

    http://thebollywoodfan.blogspot.com/2008/07/jab-we-metthis-ones-for-you-kareena.html

    One of my favorite outfits she donned was the super simple one pictured here:

    http://jerryreghunadh.wordpress.com/2007/10/29/jab-we-met-an-entertainer/

    Thanks for stopping in dosto!

  5. i realllyyyyyyyy think that she specially deserves this award coz i m a very big fan of hers. she really makes me go crazy and i think she’s the best of the best actors our industry has ever had. she’s pretty, gorgeous, honest , beautiful and i have no more words to express the talent she has. i have no words to tell how good she is eventhough i dont know her!!!!!!

  6. Namaste naush!
    Thanks for your visit and I’m happy to read about your enthusiasm for Kareena Kapoor. I enjoy her too and look forward to watching her films that I’ve missed and watching her for the rest of her career. :)

Leave a Reply

