Video of the Day: “Dhak Dhak Karne Laga” from Beta(1992) and the Texa Tonka Mall


Yesterday I had a life just like Babita in yesterday’s video clip. Such generous dosto were Nandini, Brahmanadam and Gurubhai! Hard to believe it was Gurubhai‘s first time eating Indian food. They showered me with unique, lovely and valuable gifts, the most valuable being their waqt. We dined on scrumptious delicacies at Best of India in the cozy little gem of a strip mall: The Texa Tonka Mall. Strip malls can really be quite charming if you give them the chance.  The Texa Tonka not only has a great name, but is home of Best of India, Namaste Plaza, and Axman! After the great meal with yaaro, I was lucky enough to watch Beta, which has the most tight slaps to the face I’ve ever seen in a Bollywood movie.  A perfect birthday fo Sita-ji!

 Beta (Hindi: बेटा, Urdu: بیٹا, translation: Son) is a 1992 Bollywood movie directed by Indra Kumar. The film featured the pairing of Madhuri Dixit with Anil Kapoor, who were previously paired in Tezaab and Parinda. The film is perhaps best remembered for the hit song “Dhak Dhak Karne Laga”, which earned Dixit her nickname as the “Dhak-Dhak Girl” (“dhak-dhak” = heartbeat). Beta won four Filmfare Awards including Best Actress (Dixit), Best Actor (Kapoor), Best Playback Singer (Anuradha Paudwal for “Dhak Dhak Karne Laga”) and Best Supporting Actress Aruna Irani. It’s a remake of Tamil blockbuster Enga Chinna Raasa directed by Bhagyaraj. Beta is the story of Raju (Anil Kapoor), the only child of a widowed multi millionaire. Raju’s father can provide him anything he wants but Raju’s only desire is to get mother’s love,beta.jpg in order to please Raju, his father gets married to Nagmani (Aruna Irani), thinking that she will take care of Raju more than his real mother would. Raju becomes completely devoted to his stepmother, doing whatever she wishes. Time passes by, Raju grows up and gets married to Saraswati (Madhuri Dixit). Saraswati discovers that Nagmani’s motherly love for Raju is fake and all what Nagmani is interested in, is capturing Raju’s wealth. And thus begins a battle within the household between daughter-inlaw and mother-in-law. (wikipedia)

beta1.jpgToday’s video is so caliente, it should be rated R for racy!   My movie watching yaar fell in love with Madhuri during this song, and his love only deepened as the movie progressed. Can you say Filmfare award? Enjoy “Dhak Dhak Karne Laga” by playback singers Udit Narayan and Anuradha Paudwal from Beta.  

Thanks fo tilluskc for the video.

Lyrics

5 thoughts on “Video of the Day: “Dhak Dhak Karne Laga” from Beta(1992) and the Texa Tonka Mall

  1. It’s true, Beta was fantastic, almost epic. If it weren’t for the stupid, time-wasting slapstick content that filled about 20% of the movie, it would have been a 10. As it was that 20% knocked its rating down proportionately.

    Yet I encourage everyone to see Beta for Madhuri Dixit’s empowered, and empowering, performance. I don’t even like women, campy or otherwise, in my movies. Maybe it’s my white male privilege talking, but their cuckoo-like voices (Raju’s words, not mine), along their breasts, crying, giggling, homemaking, hair-tossing and dithering offend me. At least that’s how I used to think; I’ve been forced to reassess in the wake of Dixit’s powerful performance. This woman took no shit from anyone, and boy was she a match for her scheming mother-in-law, a self-proclaimed “demoness” and “snake” who proudly admitted that she wouldn’t hesitate to “eat [her] young.”

    I have to say, though, that as evil as Raju’s mother was, and as clever as she was, she had a penchant for spilling the lentils within earshot of her daughter-in-law and various servants. If she and her retarded brother-in-law had whispered in the corner instead of yammering in the living room, all their plans would have come to fruition. That was stupid! People say that overhearing is a lame convention in movies, an unclever way to advance the plot, but you know what? It happens in real life. People won’t shut up. And that, to a significant extent, is what did her in. So just to be clear, SHE was stupid, not the plot point. I loved the plot point.

    Anyway, the film was just outstanding. Now that I think about it, it might even warrant an 8.5. For sure it would be an 8.5 if Anil Kapoor were more attractive and had been less of a simpleton as Raju. All that head bobbing, which Sitaji says every Indian actor does (certainly Hrithik Rosan did it all the time in Krish and Koi…Mil Gaya; and now that I think about it, SRK does it, too, albeit elegantly), really started to wear on me.

    By the way, what is it about Bollywood that its audiences have such an affinity for mentally impaired lead male characters? I haven’t seen a lot of Indian movies, but it seems like a disproportionate share of them ask audiences to lose their hearts to males who are essentially brain damaged. Not that there’s anything wrong with retarded people, but isn’t there something wrong with the writers and directors who intend for audiences to find them sexually attractive?

    One more thing, Sitaji: I was roundly punished for staying up to watch the movie. I didn’t get my work done and I had to apologize to a client for failing to meet the deadline I would have met had I spent the evening working. Yet I’m delighted I was able to help you celebrate your birthday and have the opportunity to see the movie, get to know Madhuri Dixit, and think about the many, many ways Beta’s story was MY story. But still. I feel like I deserve some extra credit for blowing off my professional responsibilities. You know, I charge a hefty hourly rate. It’s like I spent that money just to watch the movie. Like I said, though, it was worth it. Totally worth it! Thanks.

  2. I am so happy you were so touched by this fine filmfare fetching flick, friend!

    I like how the dust of these movies finally settles in your head overnight and when you awaken you remember some odd parts.

    For me one of these parts was how Raju came back after being missing for a night and causally said to his mom, “Oh, sorry I didn’t make it home last night, got caught up in a cyclone.” And not only was that said so matter of factly, but mom reacted in kind. You know, just a cyclone. NBD

    And now I FINALLY understand when I do an internet search for Madhuri Dixit, why I see the gross line “Hot Madhuri Dixit rape scene.” It’s from the “Barrel of Death” scene with that crazy vindictive Sikh character. It’s certainly not a “hot” scene, but it is memorable and defining. Madhuri is really a strong queen in this movie. I did worry throughout that she wasn’t playing her cards close enough when dealing with her mother in law.

  3. You’re right, the rape scene wasn’t nearly as hot as advertised. I don’t even think a rape actually occurred. And frankly, I’m glad Madhuri Dixit wasn’t violated — although I have no doubt she would have rebounded just fine. Shit, her village practically stoned her and still the woman left with her rack and head held high. Note, too, her resilience in the face of the horrific beating Raju inflicted on Madhuri for accusing his mother of getting his father (her husband!) committed. Sure, she could take comfort afterward in Raju’s guilt-driven act of self-mutilation, but that’s not what drove her. Chalk Madhuri’s recovery up to strength of character. And as much as I hate to admit it, her mother-in-law displayed similar fortitude when subjected to that masterfully choreographed beating at the hands of her Jerry Seinfeld-lookalike biological son; delicious, balletic and very much deserved! Yet one of the things I liked about Beta is that it didn’t endorse matricidal behavior. Or maybe it did…well, obviously it did — but it didn’t leave it there. Everyone got theirs (in a good way, even the audience, which participated vicariously in every blow and witnessed every deceit).

  4. Love this song, and the movie was fun—although Anil’s stupidity beggared belief :-)

    Thanks for the reminder, I should watch it again.

  5. Thanks for stopping by memsaab, namaste! Glad you liked being reminded of the movie. I think “Beta” would be a movie that holds up and may be even better on a 2nd watching, of course minus the annoying parts. I thought Madhuri was really great in this part.

Leave a Reply

