Halla Bol!


halla1.jpghallabol.jpg

 

I saw Halla Bol this weekend and of course I don’t want to write a review, but do want to point out what I liked:

  • The brooding, angry, simmering, seething Ajay Devgan. I couldn’t get enough!
  • Pankaj Kapoor‘s character Siddhu. (Dosto, I didn’t know he was Shahid Kapoor‘s dad!)
  • Darshan Jariwala’s character Gaekwad
  • Ajay’s giant watch
  • Giving a kidney to pay for a good lawyer
  • Many angry mobs, so much to protest, and so often!
  • Pool party den of sin scene, ala playboy mansion. Many goris around the pool representing decadence. Yaaro, it gives me hope that I could be an extra.
  • Sikhs come out looking very cool throughout & ultra Sikh sword fight was great!
  • Ajay’s (Sameer) room of awards and its destruction
  • The The Big Lebowski moment
  • Jackie Shroff’s special appearance, so commanding!
  • Sridevi’s special appearance. She was so tentative. Come on Sridevi! Own it!
  • Glimpses of Rishi Kapoor, Shilpa and Abhishek. Was Abhishek there in the awards show section, or did I imagine it?

.

hallabol-2007-51b.jpg

 

I think Ajay looks like Arnold Schwarzenegger here:

hallabol-2007-47b.jpg

 

I left the theater shouting “Halla Bol!”

2 thoughts on “Halla Bol!

  1. The scene in the award room was very good, I agree.

    Had no clue that Pankaj Kapoor is Shahid Kapoor’s father! He was great, and yes, that sword fight was well done.

    Surely, you can hope for more than being an extra! I give you this line from Rang De Basanti: ” *Sue* kar, mere mann ko…” ;)

  2. I know, I didn’t know either, put thanks to my geek world guru, wikipedia, I learned that he’s Shaid’s dad. I wonder if he dances as well as his beta? He was fantastic, I converted to Sikhism during the movie he was so good. :)

Leave a Reply

