Video of the Day: Amanat Ali singing “Ajab Si” from Om Shanti Om on Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Challenge 2007


saregama-omo-sets.jpg

I loved this song “Ajab Si” originally performed by playback singer Kay Kay, lyrics by Vishal Dadlani,  from the 2007 movie Om Shanti Om.  I’ve tried to upload the song from the actual the movie here, but noticed the videos keep getting removed from youtube once they’re up, due to copyright infringment. This one video of the song has remained because it’s not from the actual movie, but from the show  Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Challenge 2007. I must make the point that India kicks our collective American asses in the music competition shows, like Idea Star Singer and  SRGMP .  The Indian shows have better sets, better themes, a better respectful and often weeping audience, and judges who actually listen to the singers on headphones!  They have raised the bar indeed. I want American Idol outsourced! Here contestant Amanat Ali  performs “Ajab Si” for guest judges from OSO: producer Farah Khan, actors Shreyas Talpade and Deepika Padukone, and the song’s writers, Vishal-Shekhar

AMANAT ALI, a contestant of the Zee TV Sa Re Ga Ma Pa musical show, brought tears not only in the eyes of all the judges and guest stars present there in the show, but also in the eyes of all television viewers with his song “Tujh se Naaraaz Nahi Zindagi” from the movie Masoom. His soulful song absolutely mesmerized everybody. (amanatali.net)

deepika.jpgHere Ali brings tears to Deepika as he sings the beautiful “Ajab Si” and she is so moved by the intensity of the emotion he evokes that she must remove her headphones. Enjoy how Farah Khan tells Ali, “You are looking so much like Shah Rukh Khan.”

 

Thanks to zagoo2000  for the Youtube video!

Lyrics in Hindi with English translation.

For some more Amanat on BFC, click HERE.

23 thoughts on “Video of the Day: Amanat Ali singing “Ajab Si” from Om Shanti Om on Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Challenge 2007

  1. Amanat Ali and Raja together should have been the winners of saregamapa challenge 2007. They were most talented and deserving contestants of 2007.

  2. Namaste Shubham & Smruti. From what I’ve seen on SRGMAP I agree with you guys. In fact I didn’t really like “Dard-e-Disco” that much until I saw Raja perform it on the show. Look at the judges and the audience they going wild! They loved it!

    Hopefully we’ll be hearing more of Ali and Hasan in some movies. I don’t even know the naam of the “real” winner of the show.

    Thanks for stopping in!

  3. I’m not sure who’s better — Amanat Ali or Raja Hasan. They’re both outstanding!!! Incredible clips — both Ajab Se and Dard-e-Disco. And could Deepika be any cuter or sweeter or hotter?

  4. Yes Brahmanandam, I agree! And Farah Khan is having so much fun! Besides Deepika, being cute, sweet and hot, I’d also say that about Shreyas Talpade, Vishal and Shekhar. Once you start watching those clips from SRGMP it’s hard to stop. Even Salmaan Khan is so sweet as a judge and is seen close to tears in show segments. You can’t blame him with the beautiful singing. Add there’s another series of something like, “special request by Sharukh Khan,” where contestants sit and have a little conversation with SRK and he tells them what he’d like to here them sing. I also like the encore aspect of the show, which is in both the Ali and Hasan OSO shows. So much talent.

  5. We would like to know where is Amanat Ali, i.e., whether he is in India or gone back to Pakistan/Dubai? If he is in Mumbai, has he taken up any offers?

    Raja Hasan is singing for an album and has also joined other contestants to perform on a world tour.

    Amanat Ali is not only the best singer a good human being, a decent boy and has etiquettes.

    We would like to see more videos of Raja and Amanat and interviews if any after the show.

  6. Shubham & Smruti,
    Thanks for stopping back. I wonder those same things. I’ll look around and post something here soon. All the best!

  7. Sitaji Namaste,

    Thank you, please do let us know more about these guys. Also watch zee music around 7.30pm for the interviews of contestants, we believe specially on wednesdays, bye.

  8. Hello to all listeners n well wishers of Amanat Ali’s GOLDEN VOICE around the world…

    JUST A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL OF YOU FOR HAVING ACCEPTED AMANAT ALI AS THIS CENTURY’S MOST ACCLAIMED SINGER..

    HE DOES EXTREMELY WELL… WHATEVER BE THE FIELD, HE IS SUPERB.. HE SHOULD NOW ON PERMANENTLY
    HELP THE FILM INDUSTRY WITH HIS NEW MELODIOUS VOICE WHISH ATTRACTS AS MANY LISTENERS AS IF A MAGNET SENT TO EARTH FROM HEAVENS..

    AMANAT ALI YAAR, KEEP IT UP…

    AT SUCH A YOUNG AGE YOU POSSESS THE GOLDEN VOICE WHICH ONCE MOHAMED RAFI POSSESSED.

    I BELIEVE YOU BELONG TO THE INDIAN FILM INDUSTRY N ALL YOUR COMPATRIOTS OF PAKISTAN SHOULD SACRIFICE TO ALLOW YOU HELP THE INDIAN FILM INDUSTRY…

    WHEREVER YOU ARE MADE TO SING N IN WHATEVER CIRCIMSTANCE, YOU ARE JUST SUPERB..

    A BIG BRAVE AMANAT , KEEP IT UP EVER.

    A WELLWISHER FROM THE REPUBLIC OF MAURITIUS.

    MR KRIPANUND JEEWON, EDUCATION OFFICER, GRANDE MONTAGNE COLLEGE, RODRIGUES , MAURITIUS
    kripanund@yahoo.co.uk

  9. MR KRIPANUND JEEWON,
    Thanks for stopping in all the way from Mauritius. I have seen Mauritus in some Bollywood movies and it looks beautiful. I really liked this quote of yours about Amanat Ali’s voice and how it, “ATTRACTS AS MANY LISTENERS AS IF A MAGNET SENT TO EARTH FROM HEAVENS.” So true. I hope we hear a lot more from him in the coming years, yaar.
    All the best!

  10. I love amanat from bottom of my heart. and i would love u foreever and the day i meet u will be my best day of life. INSHALLAH u become the greatest man in ur life and be at the top of the world. i cannot meet u i know but i will always pray for u.BEST OF LUCK.

  11. Hello, all! I was just taking my morning stroll through “the usual suspects” (BFC aur Amitji’s BigBlog), and was most definitely pulled in by that aforementioned heaven-sent magnet, Amanat Ali! First off, for some reason those kind of “talent” shows put me off so much, and I never watch them, as I think that the panel can be nasty and self-serving, and the whole thing makes me feel uncomfortable. But the entire feel about this SaReGaMaPa Challenge 2007 invited me in immediately: the panel was LOVELY (and familiar, too – I just love “Om Shanti Om”, and Ishmail Darbar is one of my fave composers; can’t wait to see “Mehbooba”!): respectful, genuine, supportive (not to mention so easy on the eyes!). And I cannot say enough about Amanat Ali: it took me awhile to understand that he wasn’t the original singer on the film, even when it said “K K” (I’m slow sometimes!). This young man has such a rich, warm, and gorgeous voice, and he was so expressive – it totally brought tears to my eyes! Boy, do I hope that someone discovers him in the Indian music business, as he’s really talented, and just seems SO sweet and deserving!

    And I’m telling you, it’s a good thing that I don’t really watch TV, as if I did, I would be super inclined to order Zee TV and whatever Indian cable connections I could get. And that would be the end of my being a productive member of society, as between BFC, Amit’s blog, and Indian TV I would never leave the house and would never get anything done (but just think of how bahut bahut accha my Hindi would be!)! Thanks again, Sita-ji!!!!!!!

  12. kohinoor, Namaste. Thanks for your visit and we share the same love for Mr. Ali! :)

    jen, saheli, namaste!
    So glad to hear you appreciate Amanat Ali. I prefer his version to the one from the movie, thought I love that one too. He’s fantastic! Yes, I agree about what you say about TV and cable, I too would order Zee TV and slip into obscurity, never leaving my home. The pagli gori, who stays inside all day because she thinks she’s Indian now. TRAPPED in a TV world between reality and fantasy all due to Zee TV! As far as the snipits of talent shows I’ve seen from India, they are GREAT! Which is why I wrote this in the psot: “I must make the point that India kicks our collective American asses in the music competition shows, like Idea Star Singer and SRGMP. The Indian shows have better sets, better themes, a better respectful and often weeping audience, and judges who actually listen to the singers on headphones! They have raised the bar indeed. I want American Idol outsourced!” There are so many of them and I’ve loved all that I’ve seen. Don’t get me started on the south Indian ones either! I think it all comes down to manners and kindness, hai na? They are so much more polite on the talent shows. But on another note, check this out, though I’m a fan of the tight slap to the face for the sake of drama in the movies, look how it goes wrong here in a Indian competition show:

  13. ewwwwwwwww, that’s awful! “How can you slap, how can you slap?” I’m sorry, but in Real Life (as opposed to Filmi) I’m sickened when anyone slaps anyone, and to see him slap her back, that’s just a blatant instance of domestic violence and I hope that that young man (hardly a “gentleman”) – or probably more effective – his friends and family will see the powder keg that he is and get him some help. No matter what, a man hitting a woman is flat out inexcusable.

    Hmmmm, and on a lighter note, I just watched “Sarkar Raj” tonight, which I enjoyed, but I’m glad I took Dramamine before I started it, as RGV’s swoopy camera work makes me feel as though I have vertigo! But Amitji… vah, vah, VAH!

Leave a Reply

