Mayur Verma, the young Amitabh


The other day, in the “O Saathi Re” post, I wrote how I’d noticed that the boy playing Amitabh in Muqaddar ka Sikander also played him in Laawaris. Co-Blogwallah Nandini and I both love the part in Laawaris where Mayur’s character, Heera, works in a restaurant and easily takes orders from the diverse clientele, in Hindi, Urdu, Marathi, etc.. He’s just so into that job and serves all with ease, and then starts to dance to the tune on the radio, Mere Angene Mein, Tumhara Kya Kaam Hai,” not knowing it was his OWN MOTHER singing. (She died in child birth and he was given up for adoption) His boss tries to stop him from dancing, but Heera (young Amitabh) says something like, “I can’t! Something about this song just speaks to me,” and continues to jam. Too bad I don’t have that video here for you to see. If I ever find it on youtube, I’ll post it here. My internet research lead me to his website. Read all about Mayur Verma.

mayur1.jpg

Check some of this out found in the “testimonials” section of his site:

* Debut film was Muqaddar ka Sikander, directed by Prakash Mehra; played the role of the child Amitabh Bachchan. Won various awards for the portrayal of this character and became an overnight sensation. The film went on to be one of the biggest blockbusters in Indian cinema history, celebrating its Diamond Jubilee.

* Achieved greater popularity with Lawaris and Bemisaal, again playing the childhood parts of Amitabh Bachchan and became the highest paid child artist.

Perhaps the most intriguing link on his website is the Mayur as a Travel Host. Just think about that! Flying over and meeting him, and asking stuff like, “Tell me about how Big B. treated you during the first film? Tell me EVERYTHING he said. What kind of food does he like?Do you still talk to him?” And Mayur would continue to be polite, but eventually just walk away.

phone-card.jpg

If you want to write him here’s what his website says:

Mayur ‘Raj’ Verma

Email : raj@mayurverma.com

My dear fans,

Due to large number of Emails I receive, it is difficult for me to reply all of them. However I always try my best to answer each one of them. Hope you will keep sending me all those lovely messages as well as critiques on my work that encourages me to always perform better than before.

Thanks & Regards,

Mayur Verma

9 thoughts on “Mayur Verma, the young Amitabh

  1. Hi Sita-ji!
    Thanks again for adding Bitten By Bollywood to your bloglist! I’ve added you as well!

    You make some really good observations about some of the scenes in this movie…and yes, this one in particular did have so much symbolic meaning for me! It was definately one of my fave parts of the entire film!

  2. So glad you found us! Also, thanks for adding us to your bloglist.
    “Laawaris” is just fantastic and its fun to think about how that song stayed with you and was significant to your Bollywood experience.
    See you on the WWW!

    • hello halima,
      thanks fr ur comments and compliments on my film Love in Goa an others..

      hope to talk to again soon..I was on net this morning in my home in Wales..and came across ur message and felt that I must acknowledge it…
      thanks again

      mayur

      • My dear Mayur Raj Verma-ji!
        VAY! How exciting to see you stopped by to coment on this humble blog. I adored your work in Mukaddar Ka Sikandar, Laawaris (2 of my favorite films ever!) as well as Sharaabi. Can you believe I have yet to see Bemisaal? Now that I know you are in that too I will see that as well as the film Halima mentioned above. I like your new website, very slick. I’ve updated the link in this post to connect to the new site. All the sections are wonderful, and I particularly like the child artist gallery. Thanks again for making such wonderful films and for stopping in sir. All the best!

  3. Hey Mayur,

    When I was a kid I loved one of the performances on DD by you. I was super impressed by the talent. You mimicked how bollywood actor’s dance and I remember you did it on song Main hoon prem rogi doing Sanjay Dutt/Rishi Kapoor/Shashi Kapoor/Amitabh and even Kumar Gaurav….I have been searching for that video all over the internet but couldnt find it.
    hope this message reaches you and you share the link with me.

    Iffy Patel

  4. Hi Mayur

    Sorry I have not called in a long time. I lost my mobile along with your number. Hope all is well and hope to speak to you soon

    Take Care
    Ricky chand
    Add:Rickychand1@Hotmail.Co.uk

Leave a Reply

